

Joint statement by Australian Information Access Commissioners and Privacy Authorities

26 May 2022

Principles for nationally consistent approaches to accessing Stolen Generations records

Information Access and Privacy regulators from across Australia have issued a joint statement to mark National Sorry Day (26 May).

Australian Information Access Commissioners and Privacy Authorities recognise the important role of historical records in truth telling and sharing history, intergenerational healing, redress and reparations for Stolen Generation survivors and their families.

The <u>*Healing Foundation's*</u> Principles for nationally consistent approaches to accessing Stolen Generations records will inform ongoing discussions about greater national consistency.

We acknowledge that the Principles support implementation of recommendations about access to records from the *<u>Bringing Them Home</u>* (1997) and <u>*Make Healing Happen: It's time to act*</u> (2021) reports.

We are committed to working together with The Healing Foundation and stakeholders to champion timely, easy access to records through informal access schemes wherever possible, with formal access applications required only as a last resort.

Co-signed by:

Angelene Falk Australian Information Commissioner and Privacy Commissioner

Leo Hardiman QC Australian Freedom of Information Commissioner

Rachael Rangihaeata Information Commissioner, Queensland Sven Bluemmel Information Commissioner, Victoria

Rachel Dixon Privacy and Data Protection Deputy Commissioner, Victoria

Joanne Kummrow Public Access Deputy Commissioner, Victoria

Penny McKay A/ACT Ombudsman **Paxton Booth** Privacy Commissioner, Queensland

Anna Rickard and Katie Shepherd A/Right to Information Commissioners, Queensland

Catherine Fletcher Information Commissioner, Western Australia

Richard Connock Ombudsman, Tasmania

Wayne Lines Ombudsman, South Australia

Stephanie Coleman

A/Director, State Records, Privacy Committee of South Australia

Elizabeth Tydd Information Commissioner, New South Wales

Samantha Gavel Privacy Commissioner, New South Wales

Peter Shoyer Information Commissioner, Northern Territory

Brenda Monaghan Deputy Information Commissioner, Northern Territory

ENDS